Fishing resources

Natural Resources Police Reward Officers for Exceptional Service


Natural Resources Police Reward Officers for Exceptional Service

Conservation officers cited for going above and beyond the call of duty

Col. Adrian Baker (left) and Lt. Col. Robert Kersey (right) presented a Superintendent’s Commendation to Sgt. Benjamin Lillard, accompanied by his partner K-9 Rider. Lillard also received the Merit Award and was named the Maryland Park Service Officer of the Year.

Maryland Natural Resources Police held their annual awards ceremony at Sandy Point State Park on October 2 to recognize contributions to conservation law enforcement achieved by officers in 2020. In a year that presented many challenges and difficulties, PNR officers remained steadfast and more determined than ever to protect their community, wildlife and natural resources.

The ceremony began with the official swearing-in of Deputy Superintendent Lt. Col. Robert Kersey, who was appointed in June. PNR Superintendent Col. Adrian Baker and Kersey then presented more than 100 awards to several officers during the ceremony, which was hosted by Captain Melissa Scarborough.

“The past year presented its challenges, but our officers continued to protect Maryland residents and visitors on public and private lands and waterways, some even putting their lives at risk,” said Col. Baker. “I am so grateful to have these dedicated and hardworking men and women who went above and beyond.

The officers and staff who have been honored are:

First Class Officer Brian Heckman received the Medal of Valor, the agency’s highest honor, for assisting in a high-risk arrest in January. Heckman assisted Harford County Sheriff’s Deputies after hearing a suicidal call. As he walked towards the stage, Heckman heard gunshots but was not deterred. Upon arrival, he immediately asked nearby citizens to take shelter in place and helped response officers maintain a perimeter to ensure the safety of everyone involved. Fortunately, the hostile incident was safely ended and the suspect was taken into custody.

Corporal David Wilkinson, posted to the Lower East Coast, was named the 2020 Officer of the Year for his rigorous efforts in prosecuting Maryland wildlife law violators.

Officer First Class Joseph Markiewicz, who patrols the central region, was chosen as Conservation Officer of the Year. He also received the Fishing and Navigation Services Officer of the Year award.

Southern Region Officer First Class Andrew Cummins was honored as Boating Safety Officer of the Year.

Administrative Officer Shakira Johnson received the Support Services / Special Services Officer of the Year award for her commitment and dedication. Last year, when the PNR communications center was understaffed, Johnson stepped in to help while carrying out his own duties.

Sergeant Benjamin Lillard, K-9 Handler and Supervisor in the Central Region, received the Superintendent’s Commendation, an Award of Merit, and was named the Maryland Park Service Officer of the Year.

First Class Officer Brian Chillas received the Superintendent’s Commendation.

Corporal Ronald Cheezum, stationed in the Upper Eastern region, received the Shikar Safari Wildlife Officer of the Year award for his proactive law enforcement efforts.

Merit awards were presented to:
Ofc. Marc Barger
Ofc. Andrew Blickenstaff
Ofc. Nathan Bradley
Ofc. David breakall
Ofc. John bromley
Ofc. David Brown
Ofc. Thomas burt
Ofc. Zechariah Ten
Ofc. Andrew Cummins
Ofc. Cody linton
Ofc. Jason haynes
Ofc. Brain Hunt
Ofc. Timothy hawkins
Ofc. Charles McCauley
Ofc. Jeremy Miller
Ofc. Bradly Mills
Ofc. Nathaniel Minnick
Ofc. Jeremy Ryan

Ofc. Luc Santerre
Ofc. Cody Thorne
Ofc. Charles Tyler
Ofc. Kevin Blanc
Cpl. Laura Albrecht
Cpl. Vincent Artrip
Cpl. Brad Bruant
Cpl. Kristen clagett

Cpl. Jacob coxon
Cpl. Timothy Fabien
Cpl. John mcnamara
Cpl. Christophe Neville
Cpl. James robinson

Cpl. Christophe Guardian
Cpl. David Wilkinson
Sgt. Hubert brohawn
Sgt. William Davis
Sgt. Brandon garvey

Sgt. Bradley Lowe

The Superintendent’s Letter of Appreciation was awarded to:
Ofc. John butts
Ofc. Robert duval
Ofc. Brain Hunt
Ofc. Christophe Sévera
Ofc. James sharpe
Ofc. Ivan Wade
Ofc. Adam willey
Cpl. Cory Weapons
Cpl. Jacob coxon
Cpl. Scott Davis
Cpl. Andrew Felsecker
Cpl. Michel godack
Cpl. Bernard Haberkam
Cpl. Bryan Hugues

Cpl. Ethan Leonard
Cpl. James robinson
Sgt. John Buchanan
Sgt. Bradley Sparrow
Sgt. Jean Chatham

Sgt. Ronald Collier
Sgt. Maureen ferguson
Sgt. Lindsey Markert
Sgt. April Sharpeta

Lieutenant James Johnson
The former sergeant. Brandon garvey
Cpl. Anthony Milburn (retired)
Kyle west

Unit citations have been awarded to:
Ofc. Aaron Cook
Ofc. Antoine Pecoriello
Ofc. Andrew Shifflett

Ofc. David Tosches
Ofc. Ronald wines
Cpl. Cory Weapons
Cpl. Raymond Griggs
Cpl. Amelie Hunting
Cpl. Robert kapp
Cpl. Raymond Mauerer
Cpl. Stephen ward

Cpl. Sean wiles
Sgt. Danielle Brun
Sgt. Murray Hunt
Sgt. Greg Jilek
Sgt. Robert martin
Sgt. Angie shirley
Sgt. Elizabeth tyler
Lieutenant Diane Roschli
John Anderson
Michael barr
Julie Brown (retired)
Yvette campbell
David Carter
Beth coleman
Trilisa necklace
Marsha Dicus
Antoine Furno
August Gray
Doug Iman
Denise Jaskulski
Shakira Johnson
Yulonda johnson
Delma Leto
Lord Scott
Leonardo Mathesius
Rachid McMillan
Darlene Melton
Philippe Normand
Thomas Oertly
Palmar Tiffaney
Victoria Award
Lisa robinson
Tamika Rose
Kaitlin Rossignuolo
Donna Seymour
Patrick Chocney Black-smith
Kevin Thomas
Malaysia Wallace
Kayla watson
James wellman
Kyle west
Mike Wilkinson
Stacy williams

As family and friends watched, each officer accepted their award and received praise for outstanding achievement and for going beyond the call of duty to serve.

Photos of the ceremony area available on the MRN website.